neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

Let’s all be thankful!

thanksgiving_1To all my friends:

I have so many things to be thankful for.

This blog is my favorite because I get to thank all of you for your support. I wrote this down and wanted to say it at our Board Meeting for JUST ASK! I didn’t get to; I’m saying everything now.

After my website went live, everything has changed for me in great ways. Lou doesn’t want to take credit for what has happened here. If it wasn’t for Lou, there would be no Website and Blog, Live Stock Show and Rodeo, Baseball Games at Minute Maid Park, Football at Reliant Stadium, meeting The Neville Brothers, Mayor Bill White, George Clinton, Kevin Nealon, the Houston International Festival, the Texas Renaissance Festival, The Houston Roller Derby Bouts and the NF Fund Raiser. And I wouldn’t have met the hundreds of wonderful people along the way.

I’m thankful for my friend William Hughes for helping with the website and all things having to do with my computer. Matt Jones for all of his help with the Just Ask Foundation. Michelle Reed for helping with her generous donation to set up the Just Ask Foundation. And of course William, Matt and John Person for helping me “refine” my musical talent at our “Jam Nights” at Lou’s.

Thanks to all of my friends who helped with Doodle Day by donating doodles. Matt Loftiss, The Art Guys, Aaron Long, Andy Dearwater, Kim White, Kate Wiggins, Matt Walsh, Jordon Walker, Elena Congelio, Rhea Diaz, Former Senator and now Fort Worth Mayor, Mike Moncrief, and Sugar Ray Leonard.

Also, thank you to my friends and famous photographers Arthur Meyersen and Greg Gorman. Greg was nice enough to photograph we when I was in Los Angeles a few weeks ago visiting my friend Scott Dicksonand his family. The Dickson family treated me really well. Thank you Arthur Meyersen for helping my family after Hurricane Ike.

I will always be forever grateful and appreciative of the warmth and friendship extended to me from all my friends  at the Houston Roller Derby: Dementia, Mistilla the Killa, Jeckill & Heidi, Carmen Geddit, Fro-ro-cious and the one and only David Beebe, The Colonel!You guys rock!

How could I forget Christi Myersfrom ABC KTRK and Damali Keith from FOX 26 for their wonderful news stories. Laurie Seltzerfrom MNI Networks for the full page ads in Time, Newsweek and US News & World Report. Henry De La Garza and Jorge Moya for helping get the word out about “Just Ask!”

One of the best things to ever happen to me happened this year when my friends, Connie and Jaen Lawrence, found the perfect dog and companion for me. “Shiner”is without a doubt the best dog in the world!!! Connie and Jaen also provided me with a new mahogany desk, computers, printers and office supplies so I could move into STANANDLOU and start the “Just Ask! Foundation. I am so blessed to know these two wonderful people!

I think it would be nice if we took a minute here on this blog and said thanks for all the wonderful people and events that we have experienced this past year.

I know we all have something we are thankful for.

I feel that we have lots of promising things ahead for all who suffer with NF. Let’s give thanks to the doctors, nurses and researchers for all they do for NF research and treatment. Especially you, Dr. RiccardiDr. Bart Moore and you, Dr. John Slopis!

Last, but not least, I am thankful for all the wonderful, caring people that I have met on this blog: Emily, Patricia, Brian, Shelley, John P, Meredyth, Everette, David Linn, Susan, Cindy, Francis from France, Fran, Laura, Connie, Sugar Ray Leonard, Scott, Colleen, Allyson, Jerry, David, Tanya, Escarlata, Ne-Ne’s mom, Bob, Rick from England, Vera, Rie, Jaen, Rick, Michael, Bea, John K and over 150,000 visitors who have come to the site.

Thanks also to PJ at PJ’s Sports Bar for  Thursdays evenings for our group on Steak Night. Always a fun time before our Jam sessions. And P J ALWAYS serves my steak first!!!

In my many thanks, I’m including my Church, Second Baptist in Houston. My Bible Study Class, CrossTraining , took on a project when they saw my family had a need and the entire class pitched in and gave our home a make over,  While the work was being done, we were put up in a hotel.  We how have a new home with wonderful landscaping. Thank you Nancy Adkins and Dotty Tompkins for heading up the project. Everyone in the class took part in making our home comfortable.

I hope you all have gotten as much from the site as I have and will continue to share your stories, your challenges and your victories here on this site. Thank you all for being such good, no, great friends!

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! Your friend, Reggie

November 25, 2008 - Posted by | A MESSAGE FROM REGGIE, Awareness, Friends, Fun, neurofibromatosis

20 Comments »

  1. To add, thanks for the Texas NF Foundation, Cindy Hahn and the staff. The Terrills of the Denise Terrill Charity Classic, the Camp For All for having the camp site for us each year, the wonderful people who contribute to the foundation. Anyway I just came in to wish everyone here a wonderful and Happy Thanksgiving. Have a safe travel for those who will be traveling and don’t spend all your ## on the Black Friday for Christmas Shopping…..well unless you’re getting a great deal…..lol.

    Comment by JohnP | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh Yes by all means thanks to the wonderful friends you mention in the above. Cindy Hahn and Susan Johnson for all they do for the Texas Neurofibromatosis Foundation. Camp always brings new friends.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m thankful for knowing people like Reggie and his mom, Dorothy, who constantly remind me that no matter how bad things get, you can always find something to smile about, be energized by and be thankful for.

    Comment by Lou | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. I forgot I’m thankful My friend Matt, William, and John taught me how to play DO LORD, on the Lap harp. Now I want to learn that song. You know William and Lou. That song.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. Reggie, it’s closing weekend at TRF. Let me know if you’re headed back out there and I’ll see if I can make something magical happen.

    Esc

    Comment by Escarlata | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  6. Escarlata, Thank you for your visit. I’m happy you asked. I plan to be at the TRF this Friday. I would love to see you there and if you want to do something special that would be great! Everybody at the Renaissance Festival is so talented and friendly! I can be myself there! Hope to see you there!

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  7. Reggie, I can’t be at TRF this year, though I would love to be.

    Instead, my Fairemily would like you to join them at the Prince of Wales Pub at noon for the RenaissanceFestival.com Meet & Greet. You’ll know them by the pewter shields, with the letters R/F, that they wear on their lapels. I’ve showed them your YouTube video and they are looking forward to meeting you.

    You may be asked your opinion on Peeps, the marshmallow Easter candy. If you love them, expect some explanations on why they are evil creatures, all in good humored fun. If you hate them, well for that answer you can expect a very special surprise.

    Have a marvelous day at Faire! I’ll look forward to hearing all about it.

    Comment by Escarlata | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  8. I know I cant wait to meet them! Dont peeps foam up in your mouth when you drink beer with them? I’m thankful for peeps!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  9. Thank you Escarlata, Just getting a chance to get to the computer. I would love to meet them. Now that Lou knows about them He can help me find them.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 26, 2008 | Reply

  10. HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ALL!

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  11. I’m currently massaging my stomach so it’ll be able to stretch and hold more turkey and pie.

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  12. You know there is always the Rack. That should give you a good stretch. I’m thinking that would be just the thing for me.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  13. I am thankful for Alka Seltzer!

    Comment by Lou | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  14. LOL.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 27, 2008 | Reply

  15. HI Everybody HAPPY THANKSGIVING

    Comment by Shelley | November 28, 2008 | Reply

  16. Hello Reggie,
    I am a nurse anesthesia student at The University of Alabama in Birmingham. I am working on a group presentation on neurofibromatosis. I have been searching the web for pictures to put into my presentation and you keep popping up!! I felt compelled to send you a message…not because I need your picture, but to let you know how much I admire you for the work you are doing to help educate people about NF.
    As a pediatric nurse, I had not heard of NF until I started an IV on a young girl with NF. She is the reason I chose NF as my topic. If I had not heard of it, then surely most of my classmates have not heard of it and will find it helpful in the future when we are practicing anesthesia. I hope that my presentation will help atleast 60 people in the anesthesia world be aware and have a better understanding on how to manage anesthesia for those with NF in the future! Take care and God Bless!!
    Lisa

    Comment by Lisa Williams | November 28, 2008 | Reply

  17. Hi Lisa,

    Thank you for adding to my blog. I hope you will find my site helpful in your studies. Please visit and post comments often!

    I feel that there are a lot of promising studies in finding treatment and a cure for nf. I feel that my neices and nephews have more hope then we have ever had before. For that, I am thankful.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 29, 2008 | Reply

  18. Lisa,
    That would be great if you could keep us up to date on your presentation and I know everyone here on the blog would be very happy to share any information they have on NF. Two great places to go for more info are ctf.org and texasnf.org. Good luck with your studies and I hope you come back soon and often! Lou

    Comment by Lou | November 29, 2008 | Reply

  19. Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and weekend. I drove 2 hours west of Dallas, north of Palo Pinto to a ranch that 6 miles north of town. Spent two evenings in a bunk house, glad I had a seperate room from the horses, awww-the early morning aroma. Being in a city, hardly ever see the stars at night. View Venus and Jupiter and even saw the Milky Way (not the candy bar), hearing the cries of the coyottes at night.

    Comment by John P | November 30, 2008 | Reply

  20. All was good here John. Was with the family enjoying dinner.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

