neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

Shiner, My New Dog!

Just got Shiner.   Meet my new dog. Shiner is a great dog and I’m thankful to my new friends Connie and Jaen Lawrence. They helped me with making a great home for my dog. We went to the Pampered Pet Inn. When I saw Shiner he came over to me and laid down.  He was just the dog I wanted.  He’s right next to me as I write. He will be watching TVLAND tonight.

Lets talk pets. What kind do you have. What kind do you want?

September 30, 2008 - Posted by | Friends, Fun, neurofibromatosis | , , ,

67 Comments »

  1. Shiner is a lucky dog, Reggie.

    You Guys look really happy together.

    Congratulations.

    Comment by Jaen | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks Jaen. Shiner is a wonderful dog and I’m happy to have him.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  3. Jaen and Connie Lawrence are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Even nicer than Emily!!!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  4. Stanley can’t wait to meet his new “cousin.”
    You’ll be a great dog dad, Reggie!

    Comment by Rie | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  5. awsome Reggie I am so happy for you Shiner looks really goodsince his name is shiner does he like or drink shiner bock beer lol

    Comment by Brian | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. Thanks Rie Shiner must have been named after Lou’s favorite beverage.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  7. Brian thank goodness my shiner is not a drink. I would have to keep him a way from Lou.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  8. lol that is funny Reggie I agree with you lol

    Comment by Brian | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  9. True true. I just came inside. I took Shiner out for a bathroom break.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  10. What a cute dog!
    We have ferrets.. we have tried having dogs, a cat, fish, a bird, but none of them worked out for us. Ferrets seem to be the perfect fit, we have had them for almost 2 years now.

    Comment by Emily | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  11. Can you believe his name is shiner? What a cool dog. He doesn’t pull me when we walk. He understands very well. Better then my nieces and nephews. lol. When I’m working on the computer he sits with me.

    Ferrets? you will have to tell me about that. do you keep them caged or do they Run around freely? What do they eat?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  12. You think Cindy will allow Shiner come to camp? Be our camp dog or mascot. Guess not.

    Comment by John P | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  13. Good thought. Have both kind of shiner be our mascot. lol. I guess there are a lot of us that attend camp may have a pet that they too would like to make their pet a mascot.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  14. My choice would be a chimp. Put that in a camp t-shirt, and a camera around the neck, some may have a problem to tell the difference between the chimp and me……..lol

    Comment by John P | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  15. The hairy one would be the chimp……;)

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  16. No, the cute one would be the chimp!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  17. You have a thing for Chimps Blogger? You said cute chimp.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  18. That’s VERY cool Reggie, a great looking dog. I’m happy for you, and for Shiner. I love dogs and know he will be a good companion and somebody to talk to who doesn’t talk back, like you know who!

    Comment by Bart | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  19. By the way, i just received the Children’s Tumor Foundation (formerly Nat’l NF Found.) newsletter. There is an article about Vic Riccardi receiving a big Award at the last big meeting and it mentions you! I’ll send it to you.

    Comment by Bart | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  20. Thank you Bart. I will look for your the article.

    Oh yea I know who you are talking about. All I will say is he like both kinds of Shiner.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  21. Don’t think like I don’t know who you guys are talking about!!! Just remember, He who lives in glass houses gathers no moss!!!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  22. Reggie,
    Congrats on the good-looking dog. I always wanted a pet donkey, but living in the city is not conducive to donkey ownership, so that is why I hang out with Lou. Yaaa, mule!

    Comment by william | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  23. comment 21 Well Lou what do you mean?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  24. William you can always get a sheep.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  25. Oh, GOD, don’t mention sheep around William!!!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  26. Look who’s talking. A man who think chimps are cute.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  27. Hey there Dont yall think that the dog looks like Lou

    Comment by Shelley | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  28. Don’t give Lou that much credit.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  29. I have 3 dogs

    Comment by Shelley | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  30. What kind?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  31. I hope they’re small! That’s a lot of you know what to clean up!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  32. Re: #27
    Can’t tell. The only photos of Shiner are from the front.

    From the guy who can stick magnets to his head.

    Comment by Bart | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  33. lol That was a good one Bart. I say visualize and then you will get the picture. See what happens when I get my needed dose of espresso.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  34. Ahem…can we stay on subject here and talk about Shiner please?!!!

    However, I will say that it would be hard for me to believe any statement from a person who sticks magnets to his head.
    I believe Dr. Magneto has a few screws loose allowing the metal plate in his head to malfunction.

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  35. Bart did you know I’m also known as the music man. Because is the lighting you can’t see me. And we don’t need any smart comments blogger. Anyway as I was saying Bart. I’m playing the harp in video #2I think. The song is DO LORD. The other song I will learn before we go to camp next year. William Matt John ans Josh played Ball and Chain. Love that one.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  36. Reggie,
    Thank you for rescuing Shiner, he is a great dog and was in need of someone to love him. We couldn’t tell who loved who more. The two of you make a great team. Best of luck we at Kellie’s Pampered Pet Inn agree that Connie and Jaen are wonderful loving people we love them too.
    We will be here if you need us.

    Comment by Kellie's Pampered Pet Inn | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  37. Reggie you have mail

    Comment by Shelley | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  38. Yes Shiner is loving his new home. Kellie’s Pet Inn is a great place. When we have camp next year I would like him to stay there that weekend. I’m happy I can call on you all at Kellie’s Pampered Inn.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  39. I think it was Shiner that pick Reggie rather than Reggie choosing Shiner.

    Comment by JohnP | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  40. Thanks John. How do we train him to make espressos for me?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  41. The people at Kellie’s Pampered Pet Inn were truly wonderful! I think Reggie and Shiner were preordained to be together. Reggie wanted an older lab. Connie wanted to help all animals needing adoption. Shiner needed a loving home. And Lou needed a beer! It was a win-win-win situation!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  42. Reggie, the ferrets stay in a cage but we do let them run around the house daily, they are so fun to play with! They like to hide and jump out at your feet. I like to take them in the car with me, they sleep in my lap while I drive.

    Comment by Emily | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  43. Didn’t Richard Gere have an “accident” with a ferret? Or was it a gerbil?

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  44. Emily Shiner rules the house most of the the time. He goes to the crate when we have dinner. He eats his dinner in the crate.

    Lou I’m not going to touch that one. I will check with you all later. I have an appointment.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  45. If (see #40) they can trained a dog to get beer out of a refrig., it may be possible. lol

    Comment by JohnP | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  46. Yea I bet they can.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  47. {{{{{{{{{EVERYBODY}}}}}}}}

    Comment by Shelley | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  48. Right back at you. {{{{{{{Shelley}}}}}}}

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  49. How’s Shiner doing today? You need to take some new photos of Shiner in the house.

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  50. Did you see the photos from last night?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  51. Pretty darn cute photos!

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  52. I will post more photos this weekend.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  53. Lou, thats just gross. Only YOU would know that bit of information, lol.

    Comment by Emily | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  54. Emily You are right. Only Lou keep up with that type of news.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  55. Whatever are you talking about, Emily? Do you know something about gerbils that I don’t know? Please share…

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  56. You’re the one who brought it up! C’mon Lou, tell us what you do in your free time!

    Comment by Emily | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  57. Yea Lou. Second time you brought it up. You have some kind thing with gerbils Lou?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  58. On the Road Again……….travel route 66 from Amarillo to west, I am up in Las Vegas, Nevada after travel on Rt 84 (the pre-1937 ROute 66). Sunday- make my way to Santa Fe and Alberqueque.

    Comment by JohnP | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  59. Sounds great John. Keep us posted.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  60. Emily, sounds like you could use a good gerbiling.

    Comment by - the blogger formerly known as Lou | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  61. Oh Lou that was bad.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 4, 2008 | Reply

  62. Hey Everybody

    Comment by Shelley | October 5, 2008 | Reply

  63. Lou, you’re nas-tay!

    Comment by Emily | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  64. Reggie I thought you have a german shepared

    Comment by Shelley | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  65. I use to have one. Get got sick and we lost him.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  66. Hey Reggie!

    I dig your dog! I have a little Jack Russell named Harry Potter (well, my mom named him that anyway!)

    I had last been to Houston in January 1997. Have you been there all your life?

    Comment by Ryan | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  67. Hi Ryan,

    Thank you for the comment. Welcome to the blog. Shiner is a good dog. I didn’t name him. I adopt him from a shelter. He has always been taken good care of,

    Yes I have been here all my life. Houston is a great place to live. Where do you live?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | January 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

