neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

35th Annual 2008 World Championship Bar-B-Que Cookoff

wcbbqc_wide.jpgWell, tomorrow, Feb. 28, 2008, kicks off the 35th Annual Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo with the World’s Championship Bar-B-Que Contest and I’m going to be there enjoying my fair share!

Yes, I plan to be there eating all the que I can stand. I hope to get lots of photos to share on my blog and flickr page. It’s going to be a fun night.

Anyone else going to the cook off or Rodeo?

The world’s largest livestock show has to be able to feed huge crowds! The Lone Star State hosts a colossal, Texas-sized picnic to launch the annual event!

Just as the rodeo competitors hone their riding skills and shine their buckles, several hundred others are polishing their culinary tools and preparing to heat up their own winning run at glory! The World’s Championship Bar-B-Que Contest is three days of cooking, competition, eating and dancing. The sweet aroma drifts over the Houston metropolis, drawing crowds like bees to honey as 190,913 guests joined the feast in 2007.

While the camaraderie is fun and festive, the judging is all business as teams vie for the coveted title of World’s Championship Bar-B-Que Contest Champion. Trophies are awarded to teams preparing the best dish in each category (brisket, chicken, pork and spare ribs) as well as an overall winner. Awards also are presented to the most colorful team, the team with the cleanest area, the most unique pit and the Go Texan teams for best barbecue and most colorful team.

 

February 27, 2008 - Posted by | A MESSAGE FROM REGGIE, Awareness, Friends with NF, Just Ask!, Music, neurofibromatosis, nf, NF1, NF2, RODEO | , , , , , ,

117 Comments »

  1. Vegetarians beware!

    Comment by adgiant | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I like meat too

    Comment by Shelley | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. There should be plenty of it tomorrow.

    Comment by adgiant | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. Look out I’m going as a hungy man.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’ll make sure I keep my ribs undercover.

    Comment by adgiant | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  6. Why I got to be the one who like ribs? BECAUSE I’M BLACK! Is that what you are saying Lou! Ribs ant the type of bar-b-que I like. I better not see any ribs in your hand, are you will get yours cracked.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  7. Reggie, it’s a well known documented fact that black people like ribs. Just like Polish people like kielbassa and Italians like Sophia Loren. If you wanna trade some ribs for Sophia, let’s talk!

    Comment by adgiant | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  8. Warning! Never try to take ribs from a black man.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  9. well it polish people like kielbasa , italian people like Sophia Loren , and black people like Ribs and Irish people like Corned beef and cabbage that we don’t Lou likes since he comes from outer space,

    Comment by Tim | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  10. And I thought it was spaghetti. You know like the commercial. Mama mea that’s a spice beat ball.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  11. that is funny Tim. lol Real good.🙂

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  12. You leave my mama out of this.

    Comment by adgiant | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  13. Tim, nobody likes a smart ass!

    Comment by adgiant | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  14. Lou I think a good blow to the head will start your elevator to start working again. Why don’t you jump out of your office window. I think that will do the trick. If you land head first.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  15. comment 13. Lou that is the point Tim is making. The only thing is you are not a smart one.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  16. Well, if Tim is so smart, how come his name is in black instead of blue and he doesn’t have a tiny photo by his name?

    Comment by adgiant | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  17. Well maybe he will add his photo later. He is going to be here a lot and give you a hard time just like everyone else.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  18. OOO I would love to go to a BBQ cookoff! I love BBQ, I’m from the south too so of course its a staple in my diet! I make some killer pulled pork BBQ, you guys would love it!

    Comment by Emily | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  19. I love BBQ but I dont want to fight all the people at the cook off

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  20. I use to do cook-oofs with my husband when we first got married the name of out team were the RoadKill Roughnecks, we, he still is in the oil field and have a bit of a warp sense of humor, but we just stuck to grimes co. come sunday morning we were so sick of barb que we gave away the meat, now I really do miss it, don’t miss the head ache from all the drinking. lol

    Comment by Patricia | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  21. Ok I just got here. My first cup of coffee. I’m already and I can taste the ribs now.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  22. Where is Lou, Where is Jerry? Where is every body?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  23. Some of us work for a living.

    Comment by adgiant | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  24. There are those who do and those who don’t have too. Nothing to do, but eat and sleep. And live off the fat of the land.

    I work you fool. What you think this is. Having a number one website just doesn’t happen by it self. It takes ME! ME! ME! and I’ I’ I’.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  25. hey Lou that Houston Highlights thing for the NF foundation is it casual or formal how are you supposed to dress

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  26. Brian, I’m not sure how much it will cost to go to Houston Highlights.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  27. Houston Highlights is $75 a ticket.

    Comment by adgiant | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  28. Lou should I bring my camera this evening?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  29. Reggie Lou can get tickets on #27

    Comment by Shelley | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  30. I have to be there to work as the chair host. So really I’m going to work.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  31. is Houston Highlights casual or formal

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  32. Casual

    Comment by adgiant | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  33. This should been a Texas NF event.

    Comment by JohnP | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  34. thanks Lou I appreciate it

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  35. John, it is. Cindy and Susan are helping put it together.

    Comment by adgiant | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  36. Hey there Everybody Lou are you behaving

    Comment by Shelley | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  37. Great….

    Comment by JohnP | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  38. hey ya’ll if you want to see my truck click on Reggies photos I will get a picture of the whole truck but have to shrink the file first its way to big to send to Reggie but as soon as I shrink it I will send it for him to post

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  39. my new truck that is

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  40. You shrink it I will post it. Your truck of course.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  41. Thanks Reggie

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  42. No Problem Brian.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  43. Good looking truck, Brian. I bet you could haul a bunch of iced down beer in the back!

    Comment by adgiant | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  44. On comment 43 Bull corn Lou

    Comment by Shelley | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  45. Bush or Shinner Lou? Lou stand by. Brian and I need your help. We need to get the photo of Brian on his facebook profile. How can we help him with this?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  46. I know the Houston Highlights is a NF event, we will have our Dining Out in Dallas on April 2nd. I thought it would be neat of the BBQ also be a NF event, since many may not be able to afford the other

    Comment by JohnP | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  47. Nice truck Brian

    Comment by Shelley | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  48. Thanks Shelley and also thanks Lou

    Comment by Brian | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  49. Going to the hospital in a few minutes guys, its 7:40am here in CT, so if you dont hear from me again in the next couple of hours then you know they kept me and I will be back in a couple of days, lol. Wish me luck!

    Comment by Emily | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  50. Where is the damn thing taking place?

    Comment by Benjamin Jones | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  51. good luck Emily I hope it all goes well take care and we miss you

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  52. Break a leg!

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  53. Emily, I’m late, but good luck.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  54. Comment 50 Welcome Benjamin. are you talking about the cook off. Its going to be at Reliant Park.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  55. Welcome, Benjamin.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  56. hey Lou I dont know about hauling beer but I dont mind hauling girls LOL

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  57. Brian Lou can hook you up.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  58. Brian…Brian..Brian, you’ve been spending way too much time with Reggie!!! Get those thoughts out of your head right now!

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  59. I would love to have some BBQ today, but I am up in Dallas. I would have to go to the local bbq place here.

    Comment by JohnP | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  60. Comment 58 Look who’s talking Lou. Mr. have all the girls Lou.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  61. lol Thats funny Reggie

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  62. You have to stay on your toes when you are dealing with Lou.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  63. LOL you know this blog really gets to be fun alot of times I feel proud to be a part of it and be your friend Reggie

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  64. Thank you Brian. I was happy to meet you at he picnic last year. I will make sure I ask about having another one this year.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  65. Where are all the others? I will be going to lunch with a friend pretty soon. But I will be back. I’m not sure when he will get here.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  66. I dont know Reggie I also wonder where every body else is too they are usually cutting up pretty bad

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  67. Brian, don’t let Reggie fool you, he doesn’t have any friends. He’s probably on his way to The Men’s Club.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  68. I’m here Brian so don’t listen to Lou. I just went to get a burger with Jerry. He is gone to the airport now. How much did you pay for your membership Lou.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  69. That’s funny, I don’t recall ever having to pay a membership. The girls seem to appreciate my charming wit, engaging personality and roll of twenties.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  70. That is all it takes there is a roll of twenties. your personality has nothing to do with it.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  71. I agree with Reggie sorry Lou but I have to thats alkl it takes is a roll of twenties and not the personality

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  72. hey but all it takes is my truck and I will get a free membership lol

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  73. I wonder how Emily is doing I hope she is ok

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  74. comment 72 That’s a good one Brian.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  75. Yea I hope everything is going on with Emily.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  76. Brian, you’re getting to be almost as big a pain in the butt as Emily.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  77. Lou you are pass that stage.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  78. I’m telling Emily.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  79. She will be on my side.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  80. Hey Everybody

    Comment by Shelley | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  81. Hey Shelley where have you been?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  82. Walmart Reggie

    Comment by Shelley | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  83. whats up Shelley I went to Walmart this morning

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  84. Well, I am at home for a little bit I have been at Galveston since Wensday night, my MIL passed away yesterday, I know that she is in a better place and that she is no longer in pain, it was very difficult to watch in that condition, I will be going back tomorrow, her funerral is tomorrow, at Malloroy on Broadway at 12 noon and then we will go to Miniral that is down by Beeville, to Bury her we will have another service on sunday, she knew alot of ppl, she touched alot of lives, I hope that I am half the woman she is. I am going to miss her so very much, she was more then a mil, she was more like a mother, she took my side more then my mother a lot of times, she would fuss at my husband, I am really going to miss her.

    Comment by Patricia | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  85. I’m so sorry to hear the bad news. I will keep you in prayer.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  86. I am so sorry for your loss Patricia you and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  87. Thanx

    Comment by Patricia | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  88. Patricia I know how hard it is when you loose a loved one I saw both of my grandmas pass away and I also saw my aunt pass away I was in the hospital room when my aunt took her last breath and I will tell you it sure was not easy for me I cried and cried and cried some more it was very hard but like you said they are all in a better place and not suffering no more

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  89. I watch my father take his last breath, I told him that it was ok to go that would take care of mom and now that was hard,
    my husband left, he told me he could not watch it, he said he wanted to remember his mother the way she was that he had last week with her, my daughter was with me he did she her wed night and told her he loved her but she just kept getting sicker and could hardly breathe it was really awful to see her that way, I just stroke her hair and prayed to God, to take her that this was not her, I guess some of us have the strength to stay and watch and some of us dont it is not and easy thing to do to watch someone take their last breath, but I know she is in a much better place and she is no longer in pain.

    Comment by Patricia | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  90. {{{{{{{{{{{EVERYBODY}}}}}}}}}

    Comment by Shelley | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  91. True Patricia it was hard for me when I saw my aunt take her last breath I did not want to let her go it was the same way with both my grandmas I did not want them to go but then again I did not want them suffering either I know they are watching over me from heaven

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  92. thanks for the hug Shelley right back at ya

    Comment by Brian | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  93. thanks for the hug Shelley, I really did need one,
    yea, and they are no longer suffering anymore and for that I am greatful.

    Comment by Patricia | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  94. I miss my grandparents

    Comment by Shelley | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  95. My deepest sympathy, Patricia.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  96. Without trying to sound ironic, trite or overly profound, I think it is significant that on the day that we experience a loss of a friend of a friend, we also experience a new beginning with Emily’s baby, Mortimer.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  97. On a more positive note, Reggie, Elena and I are going to the cook-off tomorrow and will eat more BBQ, ribs and junk in one setting than we have ever experienced before. I believe Reggie has been purging his system to make room for the new additions. I would prefer not to go any further than that.

    Comment by adgiant | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  98. comment 96. I agree with you Lou. And also Patricia made a good point as well. No more suffering, the suffering is gone your Mother-In-Law has a new body and a joy that was have never experience, but some day we will if we are saved. It will take time for you to heal. It was that way for my brother. I still hurt because he is not here. I thought I would never laugh again.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  99. well Reggie he is in a much much better place your brother is watching over you and also you have all of us on here that love you you have a ton of good friends here

    Comment by Brian | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  100. You are right. It’s just us that are selfish and we want our love ones no matter what. Well I know that is the way I felt. I knew he was suffering and I still didn’t want to let go. I’m
    sure he was ready to let go and that is why he is gone. All of us know how it feel to lose a love one.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  101. True Reggie very true

    Comment by Brian | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  102. What is every body doing today? The weather is very nice.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  103. I am fixing to take a nap Reggie

    Comment by Brian | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  104. Hey Brian if I had a nice truck like your yours I would be showing it off. I really like your truck. It had back seats too?

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  105. BBQ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by adgiant | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  106. RIBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BRISKET!!!!!!

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  107. yeah Reggie I just woke up I am probably fixing to go drive around for a little bit and yeah it hs back seats like I said a couple days ago I dont mind hauling girls around

    Comment by Brian | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  108. Brian do you mind hauling me around ?

    Comment by Shelley | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  109. no not at all Shelley

    Comment by Brian | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  110. Cool Brian cool

    Comment by Shelley | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  111. Wonder if Emily had Morty yet

    Comment by Shelley | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  112. me to Shelley

    Comment by Brian | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  113. Brian hows your mom

    Comment by Shelley | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  114. Shelley my mom is doing really good I am proud of her shes tough I meen she has handled it really well thanks for asking

    Comment by Brian | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  115. Yes Emily is a mommy again.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  116. hy guy i am back from and i hade a good time on it i seen kid that i hade see in 12 year and it was nice to do it . so whont is going on in the grupe . Reggie did you get my email. take cear
    Rich

    Comment by Rich | March 16, 2008 | Reply

  117. Hi Rich Missed you. I don’t remember getting a email from you. You may need to send it again. I’m happy you are sticking with us. Come over to the other blog and leave a comment.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | March 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

