neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

Uncle John Turner Benefit at Dan Electro’s Guitar Bar

Jerry LaCroixLou and I went to the Uncle John Turner Benefit at Dan Electro’s Guitar Bar today and had a blast! Uncle John Turner is a pretty famous drummer who is in dire need of a liver transplant. Uncle John has played and jammed with some really cool dudes like Johhny Winter, B. B. King, Jimi Hendrix, Freddie King, Muddy Waters, Junior Wells, Lightnin’ Hopkins, Johnny Copeland, Albert Collins, James Montgomery, Paul Nelson. and many more.

Yesterday afternoon was my first Blues concert! I got to hear some terrific music with Lou. I thought, this would be the perfect chance to reach more people, and tell them about NEUROFIBROMATOSIS. I said sure. Oh wow! I’m happy I went. I met so many nice people who treated me just as I want to be treated. No one stared, No one laughed, Only one seemed uncomfortable setting next to me. I met a lot of people, who I would never have met if I had not gone to the concert. The music was great. What a great benefit! I was proud to be there to help support the cause.

Some of the performers who donated their time and talent include Sonny Boy Terry with Little Ray Ybarra, Paul Orta, Texas Johnny Brown, Hightailers w/Little Screaming Kenny, Jerry LaCroix, Ezra Charles, Michael Milligan & the Altar Boyz, Rehabiliteens w/TC Cannon, Allison Fisher Orch w/Teri Greene, Erin Jaimes, Eric Tessmer and Gary Clark Jr. EMCEE was KPFT 90.1 FM’s Blueshound

Click here to see photos from the benefit and help me identify some of the performers! More info: www.uncathon.com

874561488_6683a448f5_s.jpg873865895_8623e3077e_m.jpg873903763_592f7efd93_s.jpg874557896_144ffaaaf7_m.jpg874548076_047420c3a1_m.jpg874544278_28331ecf4a_s.jpg874755838_97ccdc6ae1.jpg

More on Uncle John:

Uncle John Turner was born and raised in Port Arthur, Texas. He first played drums with Jerry LaCroix. Unc met the Winter brothers and performed with them a few times as a substitute. In 1968, Unc convinced Johnny to try a full blown blues band and sent for his friend Tommy Shannon to play bass. This group quickly got natonal recognition and began making records and shortly after that played Woodstock, with Edgar Winter as the fourth member.

By late 1970, they had split up and Uncle John and Tommy moved to Austin and formed a band called Krackerjack, which had Stevie Ray Vaughan as one of the major guitarists, along with Jesse Taylor, John Stahely, and Robin Siler.

Unc then moved to Houston for a while and made records with Isaac Payton Sweat, Ezra Charles, and Joey Long and played and recorded the next four years with Alan Haynes.

After this, Johnny Winter, Tommy Shannon, and Uncle John did some recording on Johnny’s Third Degree album.

Uncle John then joined Paul Orta and made three albums with him before he and Appa Perry began the Blues Power project, which was Uncle John and Appa and different artists, including Alan Haynes, Mike Keller, Matt Farrell, Matthew Robinson, John McVey, Mark Goodwin, Erin “Icewater” James, Eve Moncees, Gary Clark Jr., Shawn Pittman, Nick Gibson, and others.

July 23, 2007 - Posted by | Benefit, Friends, Fundraising, neurofibromatosis

4 Comments »

  1. AWESOME!!!!

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | July 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Reggie, email me your email address at darlene.locke@sbcglobal.net.
    Also, the mailing address is Mission East Dallas, Attn: (me)
    I need your direct email address so I can attach my photo. I am putting an article in the mail today to you about the Clinic where I work and my name is in the article.
    Love,
    Darlene

    Comment by Dotty | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. The quality and quantity of talent at Dan Electro’s this past Sunday was phenomenal! My only regret was not being able to stay to catch Erin Jaimes’ set. From Sonny Boy Terry and Little Screamin Kenny to Jerry LaCroix, Ezra Charles and Mike Milligan and the Altar Boyz, the musicianship, passion and professionalism was all top-notch! What a tribute to Uncle John to have musicians and singers of this caliber donate their time and talent for such a worthy event. I tip my hat (Kangar) to all who produced this incredible event! Bravo!!!

    Comment by adgiant | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hey there Gonna have to ask my family about this guy You know Janis Joplin is from Port Arthur Port Arthur has the greatest seafood places to eat at lol

    Comment by Shelley | July 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

