neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

Dorothy at IKEA Rocks!!!

ikealogo.gif

Byron, Lou and I went to IKEA today to do a little shopping for my bedroom. I had just finished painting my bedroom and Lou suggested it might be a good time to do a little “spring cleaning” and take a new look at my bedroom. So we went to IKEA for ideas and saw this great bed for like $200! So I bought it!

When we went to tell the salesperson we wanted it, we asked her what kind of mattress we should get. She was so nice to us and didn’t try to hit Lou but she did keep her her eye on Byron pretty well. He just looks like trouble!!! When we were going through the kid’s area to go check out, Byron kept playing with the stuffed animals and stuff. Finally, we had to call security for his own protection. Some kids just never grow up!!!

Ok, back to Dorothy, she was our salesperson. I told her she had the same name as my sainted mother so I asked her if she was sainted too and she said yes. She said Dorothy was a name from the bible and it meant something really nice and religious. Lou mentioned that his name is from a Mickey Sillane novel and has nothing good attached to it unless you like salami. Lou’s kind of strange.

Anyway, I got to lie on a bunch of mattresses. Found one that was perfect. Bought it. Thanked Dorothy for her help and gave her a card. She said she would check out the website tonight so Dorothy, if you are reading this, thank you so much for your help today and for making me feel so special despite the fact that I brought Lou and Byron with me. I promise next time I’ll come alone. Today was the first time I had ever visited IKEA but I know if everybody who works there is like Dorothy, I’ll be back!

June 24, 2007 - Posted by | Awareness, Friend, Fun, neurofibromatosis

5 Comments »

  1. When do we get to see a photo of this new bed?

    Comment by adgiant | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. I have my bed setup now. It took me hours to do that. Not the bed wan’t hard to do, I felt so good about setting it up, I drank a coke and took a break and had a burger with grilled onions mushrooms and cheese. Yum. I’m having work on my room and still lots of work that is not compleat. The floor will be the next thing to fixup.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. Sounds like a fun and satisfying day. I went to IKEA with my mother in law down in the Twin Cities. I liked it alot, but what a zoo! I haven’t seen that many peole all in one place in a long time. We had fun though.

    Enjoy all you room renovation, sounds like fun!
    –Amy

    Comment by AmyG | June 26, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi Im working on my apt putting up pictures etc

    Comment by Shelley | June 26, 2007 | Reply

  5. I’m sure it will look nice.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | June 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

