neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

ME AND MY FRIEND BRYAN HURTA AT CAVENDER’S

caven2.jpgToday, I again went to Cavender’s. Of course if you have been keeping up with my blogs, you know it is one of my favorite places to shop. I met with Bryan Hurta, he works there.

I shared with him the reason I was there. Its because of the star treatment I always receive when I go. Everyone in the store have always given me excellent service.

Some may feel what’s the big deal? Well any one that suffers with neurofibromatosis can understand. And you can read their stories on my blog as well. They understand what its like when people don’t understand or worse, don’t even try.

It’s not always easy walking into a new environment and wondering how people are going to react to you or treat you based on how you look. Many times I feel I need to be among friends before I can go someplace new. I get butterflies. I get concerned for my friends. I feel bad for the people working there and how they might respond.

caven1.jpgAt Cavender’s I feel like I’m among my friends! I can go there alone, be treated with respect, get help like any other customer and also get a “God Bless You!” when I leave. And you have no idea how that makes me feel!

It makes me feel TREMENDOUS!

When I meet people like I have met at Cavender’s you want to acknowledge them. Thank you Bryan Hurta for your time today. I salute you all.

April 15, 2007 - Posted by | Friends, neurofibromatosis

7 Comments »

  1. Bryan looks like a fine young man and does Cavender’s proud! They’ve got my business.

    Comment by adgiant | April 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. I got this link from an NF support board. My oldest son is 3 1/2 and was recently diagnosed with NF. I can understand what you are saying about wondering how people will look at you when you walk into a room. My son doesnt yet have any visible signs of NF other than his CAL spots but every day I worry about how he will feel when he is older, if he looks differently than others. I worry for him because I dont want him to feel bad for himself.
    I look forward to keeping up with your blog.
    God bless!

    Comment by Emily | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. Dear Emily,
    Thank you for your post. My mom worried about me as well. The thing is, and I ‘am sure you know, we just never know how this disorder will affect us. We can only hope and pray for the best. I’am sure a lot more is known about nf thease days. As your son gets older even more will be known about nf. So don’t feel defeated. We will find a cure and we will have support from all over. I’am just one of the many that are spreading the word about nf. Stay in contact here or by my direct email. God bless you, and keep the faith.

    Make it a tremendous day

    Reggie

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hello Reggie,

    Ed Olsavicky up here in Pennsylania. (Lou’s cousin) Just saw the link from his site to yours. A really nice job here. I looked at all 277 photos. Seems you have gotten around alot more since the last email we shared.

    Noticed with admirations that you had a photo of “skinny Reggie” somewhere about the middle of the 16 pages. You sure are brave to post that one.

    Have a great day and drop me a line when you have a few mimutes,
    Ed

    Comment by Ed Olsavicky | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hello Ed, It is really good to see you hear. Well you can say I guess I have been around. All in a good way of course.
    About the skinny Reggie, I have you know I’m a west size is 30 same as it was when I took the picture with Kenny Rogers. LOL. You don’t beleive that do you? |:) If you do I have so stock I want to sale you. Really its good to hear from you Ed. I hope you visit often.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. I need to buy some new boots, let’s set up a day you can take me over there. Always willing to support good businesses. Give me a call at work.

    Comment by Jerry T | April 21, 2007 | Reply

  7. You can bet I will give you a call on Monday. Would love to go with you aver to Cavenders with you.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

