neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

A POEM FROM A FRIEND OF MINE

phantasm.jpg

Reggie’s lament

You may see my spots as scattered
patches of dark merely punctuating.
But I know them merged into a tattered
cloak, enveloping and suffocating.
You may see my coarse and fleshy lumps
as merely clusters of excess tissue.
Until one sweetly human gesture stumps
you: my desperate move to kiss you.
Thus I know them as negation,
a zero in the critical equation
by which to calculate my reality,
an absence replacing personality.
You may see my face as a residence
of tumors, or challenge to a noble task,
an unsolicited testament of courage.
But I want to hide, to place a distance
between us, or interpose a gilded mask,
or, better yet, deny or even purge
my face, presenting you a void, simply
the final denial of who I am or could be.
I am phantasmagoria, a specter merely,
that we both some way deny or recant.
Thus, I stand before you vague and clearly,
cloaked and masked and vacant.

Vincent M. Riccardi
Copyright © 1989 Vincent M. Riccardi

docric.jpg

 

I wanted to post a poem that was written by a dear friend of mine, who was my doctor at one time.

I am so thankful to know him.

 

April 12, 2007 - Posted by | Friends, neurofibromatosis, Texas NF Foundation

9 Comments »

  1. Dr. Riccardi is a man of many, many talents. I wonder where NF research and awareness would be without the early work of Vic.

    Comment by Lou | April 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. I hope to see Vic again at some point. Maybe he will hear about my site. I would like to know is there anything he would liketo add.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 15, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi Reggie. I hope you never want to hide or place a distance between me and you. Peggy

    Comment by Peggy | April 15, 2007 | Reply

  4. Don’t worry Peggy, that will never happen. Your friend Reggie

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 15, 2007 | Reply

  5. I would love to know more about the photo. It’s haunting yet very beautiful.

    Comment by Lou | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. Dr. Riccardi and I have reconnected. Dr. Riccardi has been a very good friend of mine for many years. I spoke with Dr. Riccarid on the phone today, and we will most likely hear from him on my site. He knows everything there is to know about nf. If you want to know more about nf are what the photo means to him, you will have to remember, what I have said. JUST ASK! The good thing is that You can expect a good answer with Dr. Riccardi.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  7. I remember meeting Dr. Riccardi years ago, when I first met you Reggie. I was very impressed with both of you.

    Comment by Rie | April 22, 2007 | Reply

  8. Thank you Rie. I will never forget how nice you have always been to me.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 23, 2007 | Reply

  9. […] This is a poem I found from https://reggiebibbs.wordpress.com/2007/04/12/a-pome-from-a-friend-of-mine/ […]

    Pingback by “Reggie’s Lament” | Neurofibromatosis Blog | May 14, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

