neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

SLEEP APNEA QUESTION

According to American Sleep Apnea Association the following is foundapnea2.jpg.
The Greek word “apnea” literally means “without breath.” There are three types of apnea:

1. obstructive 2. central,and 3. mixed. Of the three, obstructive is the most common.

Despite the difference in the root cause of each type, in all three, people with untreated sleep apnea stop breathing repeatedly during their sleep, sometimes hundreds of times during the night and often for a minute or longer.

ost.jpegObstructive sleep apnea (OSA) is caused by a blockage of the airway, usually when the soft tissue in the rear of the throat collapses and closes during sleep. In central sleep apnea, the airway is not blocked but the brain fails to signal the muscles to breathe.

Mixed apnea, as the name implies, is a combination of the two. With each apnea event, the brain briefly arouses people with sleep apnea in order for them to resume breathing, but consequently sleep is extremely fragmented and of poor quality.

snore.jpgSleep apnea is very common, as common as adult diabetes, and affects more than twelve million Americans, according to the National Institutes of Health. Risk factors include being male, overweight, and over the age of forty, but sleep apnea can strike anyone at any age, even children.

Yet still because of the lack of awareness by the public and healthcare professionals, the vast majority remain undiagnosed and therefore untreated, despite the fact that this serious disorder can have significant consequences.Untreated, sleep apnea can cause high blood pressure and other cardiovascular disease, memory problems, weight gain, impotency, and headaches.

Moreover, untreated sleep apnea may be responsible for job impairment and motor vehicle crashes. Fortunately, sleep apnea can be diagnosed and treated. Several treatment options exist, and research into additional options continues.

This a question, I would like to know, have there been any studies on nf patients that believe they may have sleep apnea? I ask this, because it’s a problem I have been dealing with. I wonder if Neurofibromatosis and sleep apnea be related to the other? Is there anyone else that with nf, believe they may have sleep apena?

April 1, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. I would comment on the sleep apnea question but I didn’t get much sleep last night and I’m too tired.

    Comment by adgiant | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. Comment on it in your sleep.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. I am not aware of any relation between the two. But nothing would surprise me with this disorder, it effects so many people differently.

    Comment by Terri | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  4. I heard there will be something comming out about nf and this disoeder. One of the doctors I see told me he will make sure I get this information when its published.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | April 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hello my name is Benjamin. I was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea. I have been battling with my insurance company and they are not going to help me get a bipap machine because it is a pre-existing condition. I am trying to get one used online. I set up a website to try to tell my story and hopefully make enough from the ads to purchase a bipap machine. The last sleep study I went to told me that if I did not get a machine, I was headed for a heart attack in 5 years. I am 36. I appreciate anyone who makes the effort to spread the word. I would like to try to set up a way for the uninsured to get cpap and bipap machines without insurance. Thanks Very Much

    Comment by Benjamin | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi Benjamin,

    I have been hearing from a lot of NF patients about having sleep apnea. The doctor I see at MD Anderson is interested in that and NF. Even with the doctor’s order the insurance company won’t help? That is strange that it’s what they call pre-existing, But what do I know.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi Benjamin,
    You may want to contact the A.W.A.K.E through the American Sleep Apnea Association. I believe they may have cpap and bipap units available for those without insurance. Here is the link.

    http://www.sleepapnea.org/resources/index.html

    Comment by Kelly | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. Hi Kelley,

    Thank you for the information. I hope Benjamin see your post here.

    Comment by Reggie Bibbs | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  9. I have heard that a five year old baby can have an obstructive sleep apnea. Is it possible?

    Comment by CPAP | April 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

