neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

DEEP FRIED OREOS

oreos.jpegMost of you have heard me talk about the deep fried oreos. A friend told me they could get the oreos at the Relient Stadum burning the Live stock Show and Rodeo. I didn’t get to try them durning the Rodeo. Now that I have the recipe. I will fry a bag of cookie and post how they taste. The recipe is listed below. If you try it, post how you like it.

Deep-fried Oreos
1 cup buttermilk pancake mix
3/4 cup ice water
1 quart vegetable oil
14 Oreo cookies
Powdered sugar

Freeze cookies for three hours. In a heavy-gauge 3-quart saucepan heat oil to 350 degrees. While oil is heating, set up a cookie sheet with paper towels for draining. In a medium-sized mixing bowl stir water into buttermilk pancake mix until thoroughly combined. As soon as the batter is smooth, dip each cookie, one at a time, into batter and smooth batter, making a thin coat completely around the cookie. Place coated cookie carefully into hot oil. Repeat for each cookie. Fry on both sides, turning over once until golden brown.
Remove fried cookie from hot oil with metal tongs and drain on paper towels. Dust with powdered sugar.
Let cool slightly (about two minutes) before serving.
Note: Success depends on the batter, which insulates the Oreo from direct contact with the oil. If the battering of the cookie is done right, it will become a delicious, edible shell and protect the melted cookie.

March 20, 2007 - Posted by | DESSERTS | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Reggie – Sounds yummy but not so healthy! A few of those and you won’t fit in your chair at Cirque de Soleil.

    Comment by Michelle | March 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. Surley it will take a long long time for the effects of the cookies to show? Maybe I should wait until after the show. Yea that’s what I will do.

    Comment by Reggie | March 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hmmmmm, Reggie and smoking hot oil. Let me know you’re OK Reggie; I’m worried about you. If you’re OK, let me know how the Oreos were. The first time I tried to cook some fried chicken, I almost set my apartment on fire. Good thing I had an extinguisher!

    Comment by Bart | March 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. Bart,

    I was there today. I guess the operater didn’t get the call to you. I very much would like to talk to you. Call me or email me direct. I saw Dr.Slopis today. We need to talk about April.

    Comment by Reggie | March 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. That reminds me of a joke…

    A wealthy man came home from a gambling trip and told his wife that he had lost their entire fortune and that they’d have to drastically alter their life-style.

    “If you’ll just learn to cook,” he said, “we can fire the chef.”

    “Okay,” she said. “And if you learn how to make love, we can fire the gardener.”

    Comment by adgiant | March 22, 2007 | Reply

  6. Don’t forget the postmen

    Comment by Reggie | March 22, 2007 | Reply

  7. Sorry, I’ve been MIA for a while. Just busy……you know how it goes. That recipe sounds interesting. Should I call an ambulance just incase I get a sugar overdose? lol

    Comment by Jorge | March 23, 2007 | Reply

  8. The fried Oreo cookies hit the spot. I enjoyed the cookies.

    Comment by Reggie | March 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

