neurofibromatosis cafe

A place to talk about NF, have fun and share.

Addy Award Nomination

Guess what!

Lou Congelio just called me. He is president of STANANDLOU Advertising, the agency thatreggiebibbswhoami2.jpg helped me develop this Web site. This site has been nominated for an Addy award and the awards ceremony is on February 17. Lou and I are invited to a dinner and an awards presentation.

I am really excited about the nomination. Winning would be a great honor, not just for me, but for everyone else who has NF. People with NF and other disfiguring conditions find it difficult to do everyday tasks, and this site increases public understanding of the hurdles that we have to overcome.

Thumbs up If we win, I will accept the award on behalf of Ronnie, my brother who had NF and cancer. He died in September of 2006, and I miss him a lot. One of the benefits of this site is to tell everyone that people with NF may be susceptible to developing cancer. NF itself is not life-threatening, but if you have it, you need to be in the care of a physician and alert him or her if anything changes about your condition.

Do you have NF? Do you know of someone who does? If yes, tell me your story. I will be thinking about you at the awards ceremony.

February 7, 2007 - Posted by | ADDY Awards, neurofibromatosis

7 Comments »

  1. This is my new blog.I hope you enjoy.

    Comment by Reggie | February 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Reggie – Looking forward to seeing you at the Addy’s.

    Comment by Michelle | February 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. Michelle,

    I am also Looking forward to the Addy’s. It would be Terrific if we win something. If not, it’s still worth enjoying the evening out.

    Comment by Reggie | February 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hello Reggie, I am sure you don’t remember me. My name is Kathy. We were in the same kindergarden class at Grissom. I was your friend. We were talking one day & your brother was worried that I was being mean to you. You told him that I was your friend. You were very kind that is what I remember most about you. When I see you on TV I always remember you. The teacher was Mrs. Kirstine, she was next door to Mrs. Loop. I am glad to see that you are doing well. My prayers are with you always. You are doing a great job informing the public. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by Kathy M Balsha | February 20, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hello Reggie,
    Just like you I do too have NF as wells as three of my children out of five. One child who is a boy had surgery to remove a tumor on his left side of his head which was noticeble at the M.D. Anderson Hospital (TOP OF THE LINE HOSPITAL IN THE WORLD TO BE IN) He too had gone thru the name calling at school and it got to the point that he was making himself sick in order not to attend school.

    I too had a large tumor removed when I was around 12yoa from my left knee which resulted on a stiffed leg I too had gone thru the name calling and the stares, even today at almost 40yoa I still get the same things but I learned to ignore and to block it out of my mind. I am glad that FOX 26 in Houston ran the report. Not too much reports have been made regarding NF over the news.

    Comment by Javier Maldonado | February 20, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hello and thank you. I have been a patient at MD Anderson starting in 1978. From reading you message I know I have see you one of the times I was there with my brother. We are blessed to have hospital like MD ANDERSON.

    Comment by Reggie | February 20, 2007 | Reply

  7. Te vi en anomalías medicas. Aunque entiendo lo dificil que debe ser, lo mas importante es el corazón interior, no lo exterior!!
    Desde Argentina mucha fuerza genioo!🙂

    Comment by belu | July 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

